top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle

An adventure with Dad!

I'm pretty sure the majority of you has gone with your Dad or Mom to his or her job. I don't know about you, but I've always loved going with them to work since I was a little kid. Awkwardly, I've been going with my Dad to work quite often lately and I gotta say it's been quite fun, enriching and adventurous. Today, I will take you through a day in the life of my creator and get you an inside scoop in some of our adventures.

8:00 am - A car picked me up from home and Enrique (our driver *I need to protect his identity* :1 ) took me to the closest Starbucks to ask for an Iced American Espresso since I hadn't slept well the night before (I regularly don't drink coffee).

8:30 am - I arrived Dad's and went looking for Ginger (my golden retriever) but she was taking her daily morning walk, so I ran to my dad's bedroom and as usual, he was not ready to leave yet.

10:15 am - We arrived in one of his offices, it was the first time I was there so it was quite interesting. I got to meet a few people from Brazil and I reunited with a long-time family friend who I haven't seen in about 10 years. He is spaniard, so we had such a great time talking about trips, culture and what I've learnt about the "business" these last few years. "I noticed a very peculiar smell in this man, like cigarrettes and old books", I told my dad while we visited some designers and work partners.

12: 30 am - Stucked in traffic. One of the very few reasons I wouldn't move to Mexico City.

1:00 pm - Arrived in another of his offices. I love shaking hands (though it sort of freaks me out, I'm germophobic) with his coworkers, listening to all the office gossip (it gets pretty interesting, believe me), drink cold coconut water and draw in his office wall with a bunch of markers, just like a little kid.

3:00 pm - I was starving and my Dad worried about that (I get all moody) so we left and headed to Expo Pack, a packaging tradeshow in Mexico City. After being stucked in traffic again, our security team managed to get us through a military zone to get there faster, though we had to cross a couple of streets in the middle of traffic jams and rain.

6:00 pm - After having lunch with a friend of his and chit chatting with a couple of clients, I felt famous cause I met a couple of acquantainces despite being a little too far away from home, so it was exciting.

7:30 pm - After more meetings and joking with dad's coworkers, he gave me a tour of the expo. To be honest, packaging, machinery and stuff are not my thing but I do believe that you should take every single chance to open your eyes to the world that surrounds you no matter how different from you it may seem and I gotta say I found some pretty cool stuff like neon and sparkly bottles, as well as a piston-operated guitar, or something like that.

9:00 pm - We head home and had to take a few shortcuts courtesy from Enrique and Julio to get home safe and faster.

10:30 pm - I said goodbye to my Dad and thank him for taking me into another daily adventure and trusting me to get an inside of his life. I love every single lesson he gives me, directly or indirectly and how he manages to guide me into becoming a better and happy human being. I love you, Dad (in case you're reading this).

I would like to encourage you guys to go with your Mom or Dad to work with an open, relaxed and curious mind and see how much you can enrich yourselves.

I love you,

NE.

Estoy segura de que la mayoría de ustedes han ido al trabajo con su madre o su padre. No sé ustedes, pero a mi siempre me emocionaba acompañarlos desde que era muy pequeña. Extrañamente, he estado acompañando a mi padre a su trabajo últimamente y ha sido muy enriquecedor, divertido y lleno de aventuras. El día de hoy, los llevo a un día en la vida de mi "creador" y les muestro algunas partes de nuestras aventuras.

8:00 am - Un auto me recogió en mi casa y Enrique ( *tengo que proteger su identidad* :1) me llevó al Starbucks más cercano por un espresso helado porque no había dormido muy bien la noche anterior (no tomo café regularmente).

8:30 am - Llegué a casa de mi padre buscando a Ginger (mi golden retriever) pero estaba tomando su caminata matutina, así que corrí a la habitación a buscar a mi padre y como es usual, no estaba listo para irnos aún.

10:15 am - Llegamos a una de sus oficinas. Nunca había estado ahí, lo cual lo hizo más interesante. Conocí a un par de personas de Brasil y me reuní con un viejo amigo de la familia al que no había visto desde hace 10 años. Es español, así que pasamos un rato hablando de viajes, culturas y que he aprendido del "negocio" los últimos años. "Noté un olor especial en el hombre, como a cigarros y libros antiguos" le decía a mi padre mientras visitábamos a algunos diseñadores y colegas.

12:30 pm - Atorados en el tráfico. Una de las pocas razones por las que no me mudaría al DF.

1:00 pm - Llegamos a su otra oficina. Me encanta saludar a sus compañeros (aunque soy germofóbica), escuchar el famoso "chisme de oficina" (se vuelve interesante, créanme), tomar agua de coco fría y dibujar en su pared con un montón de marcadores como niña pequeña.

3:00 pm - Moría de hambre y mi padre se preocupó mucho por eso (me pongo de mal humor)así que nos fuimos y nos dirigimos a la Expo Pack, una feria de empaque en el DF. Después de estar (una vez más) atorados en el tráfico, logramos tomar atajos para poder llegar más rapido, aunque después tuvimos que cruzar un par de calles en medio del tráfico y de la lluvia (lo usual en el DF).

6:00 pm - Después de la comida y de socializar con un par de clientes, me sentí famosa al encontrame a un par de conocidos a pesar de estar un poco (demasiado) lejos de casa, así que fue emocionante.

7:30 pm - Después de más reuniones y de bromear con su colegas, mi padre me dió un tour de la expo. Para ser honesta, el empaque y la maquinaria no van mucho conmigo pero sí creo que debes de aprovechar cada oportunidad de abrir tus ojos al mundo que te rodea sin importar que tan diferente de ti pueda parecer y debo decir que encontré cosas lindas como botellas fosforecentes y brillantes, así como una guitarra operada por pistones, o algo así.

9:00 pm - Nos fuimos a casa y tuvimos que tomar algunos atajos, cortesía de Enrique y Julio para llegar a casa salvos y rápido.

10:30 pm - Me despedí de mi padre y le agradecí por llevarme a otra aventura del día a día y por confiar en mí para tener una perspectiva diferente de su vida. Aprecio cada lección que me da de forma tanto directa como indirecta y como logra guiarme hacia convertirme en un mejor y más feliz ser humano. Te amo, Papi (por si lo está leyendo).

Los animo a que un día acompañen a su madre o a su padre al trabajo con una mente abierta, relajada y curiosa, verán cuanto los puede enriquecer.

Con amor,

NE.

Shoes: TF

bottom of page